Hi,
We have just placed our critters on the map and by accident discovered that when in the game if you bump into them
you can push them around the map. How would I go about locking them in place? They are not meant to follow a waypoint.
Regards,
Lou
Hi! Welcome to the forum for Platinum Arts Sandbox Free 3D Game Maker. I currently have the forums locked as I am attempting to properly update them.
In the meantime please join the new Discord Server!
If you have any questions please e-mail me through the Platinum Arts website.
In the meantime please join the new Discord Server!
If you have any questions please e-mail me through the Platinum Arts website.
Pushing Critters Around
-
- Support Team
- Posts: 2458
- Joined: April 27th, 2010, 5:31 pm
- IRC Username: CP
Re: Pushing Critters Around
just a dumb guess, maybe you can put just one waypoint down?
Julius wrote:Contribute to http://www.opengameart.org NOW!
Save the wiki!
Re: Pushing Critters Around
Thanks for the idea, but trying to get a way point in a tiny area is tough. However, the Location Entity
maybe that would do the trick? I placed it down on top of where my critter spawn is, and made the radius small.
But how do I tie the location entity to the critter, I need to place a bunch of these. There is no Location sub folder.
Is there a command I place in the critter .cfg that points to use the location tag?
Thanks,
Lou
maybe that would do the trick? I placed it down on top of where my critter spawn is, and made the radius small.
But how do I tie the location entity to the critter, I need to place a bunch of these. There is no Location sub folder.
Is there a command I place in the critter .cfg that points to use the location tag?
Thanks,
Lou
Re: Pushing Critters Around
I was messing around with the obstacles and found that it uses this command:
Can I use the same type of thing with a critter to keep them from moving?
Code: Select all
r_obstacle_flags $OBS_STATIONARY
- Sircameron
- Member
- Posts: 62
- Joined: March 6th, 2012, 9:13 pm
- Name: Cameron
- Location: Indiana
Re: Pushing Critters Around
I know its a little late, but just so there's an answer for it when people read it..
that would work and you could always use if you want them to do a specific action, but you'd have to do it in the "obstacles" folder and not in the "critters" folder
that would work and you could always use
Code: Select all
r_obstacle_script <script #>
Re: Pushing Critters Around
Hey! Thanks for posting. There was no resolution to this so your ideas are most welcome.
I need something for a critter not an object. I was also thinking that if there was some type of mass
associated with the critter then that may also help to keep them in place.....
I need something for a critter not an object. I was also thinking that if there was some type of mass
associated with the critter then that may also help to keep them in place.....
- Sircameron
- Member
- Posts: 62
- Joined: March 6th, 2012, 9:13 pm
- Name: Cameron
- Location: Indiana
Re: Pushing Critters Around
Yea that solution would work fine for npc use.. But if you mean "critter" as an enemy then it wouldnt be effective.. Just depends on what your use for it is.